Sox Search and Find Dempster’s Replacement

Chris_Capuano_casx5vcp_wjynmnm7
If you haven’t heard already, news came last week from the Red Sox skipper that Ryan Dempster will not pitch in 2014. As this news came out of the dugout, many questions were asked on who would battle Doubront for the No. 5 spot in the rotation. This week that question was answered. The Red Sox officially signed starter, Chris Capuano to a 1-year contract worth $2.25 million.

Capuano is coming off a rough season with the Dodgers as he was 4-7 with a 4.26 ERA through 24 appearances. Through his career, Capuano holds a life-time record just under .500. This will also be Capuano’s first time in the American League.

In 1996, Capuano was a high school student in the Springfield, Mass. While playing in a baseball tournament, he stood on the mound at Fenway. He has now taken his childhood dream, into a reality.

As Capuano enters the Red Sox camp for the spring, he will have to face-off against Felix Doubront. Both of these pitchers tend to be up and down in their performance trends, but both have the potential to be a bottom starter. Doubront is coming off an 11-6 season with a 4.23 ERA. While that sounds like Doubront is the better option, he tends to finish off the year much weaker.

The Red Sox officially play their first major league team tomorrow as they will face the Minnesota Twins at 1:05 ET. The probables to start are going to be, Anthony Ranaudo for the Sox and Mike Pelfrey for the Twins. Spring training is finally here, be sure to tune in for all the action with the Red Sox! Go Sox!

2 thoughts on “Sox Search and Find Dempster’s Replacement

  1. I really like the format of this blog! When I was reading, I found myself being really confused about a lot of the player statistics. That’s mostly because I don’t keep up with baseball at all, but I wish that some of the abrieviations were spelled out for me. I also wish some of the links took me to the players websites so I could better inform myself. Overall, I think this blog post is well written! Great job!

  2. I really liked how your article not only gave stats but also gave a little childhood background for Capuano. I’m excited for this game; however, I’m a Minnesota Twins fan so I have to say Go Twins!

Leave a comment